#tbt Kyu Nam Han

Art

Artist, Kyu Nam Han is a local New Rochelle artist, born originally from Seoul, South Korea. I had the opportunity to see his open gallery and meet him with two friends of mine. It was an awe experience visiting his studio and to see all of this artworks. I was constantly looking at his paintings closely to see what his process was. However, I could tell he gets his inspiration from French artists, Georges-Pierre Seurat and Paul Signac. Instead, Han uses bigger points, more like circles to create his art pieces — unlike the Seurat and Signac.

When I asked him about his process and he listens to Mozart when he paints. Personally, I thought it was cool to hear and see him teach me and my friend his process of painting. In his New York City paintings, there is a vivid moment to each panel and unique detail. I like how he tries to blend eastern and western art influences. This reminds me of the Impressionists like Claude Monet and Vincent van Gogh being influenced from Japanese artistry.

Next time you are in New Rochelle, check out Han’s art studio.

-km xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

